top of page
  • Writer's pictureChayse Herriges

The Starting Line- Learning Project

For my learning project for the Educational Technology and Media 300 course, I chose to learn how to cook. Specifically, I want to learn how to cook different meals for supper, as I am pretty clueless as of right now!


Currently, I mostly just eat caesar salads or a (very dry and bland) chicken breast. For a side, I typically don’t “cook” anything, rather just chop up some vegetables. I do not enjoy cooking at all. I find it very boring, and I get very frustrated when what I cook does not end up appetizing in the slightest. I have a gluten intolerance, so that can sometimes feel limiting. I also struggle with seasoning my food. I usually end up under or over seasoning it. With meat, it often turns out really dry too. These are all parts of cooking that I would like to work on over the next few weeks.


My main goal for this project is to hopefully learn a few recipes that I enjoy cooking or at the very least, enjoy eating. I have this assumption that if I enjoy cooking or enjoy what I cook, I will be more likely to actually eat supper. As of right now, I usually only eat meals in the morning and around noon. I would like to get stronger at the gym this year, so it is important to me that I regularly eat nutritious and high-protein meals for supper. 


Over the next 12 weeks, I will try recipes that I find on websites such as Pinterest, Food Network, One Dish Kitchen, and more. I also have saved a collection of follow-along recipes on TikTok and Instagram. Another platform I think I will find useful for this project is YouTube.

The Internet is a fantastic tool for learning how to cook and I am optimistic about this new journey! I’ve seen a new trend of cooking different kinds of chicken in air fryers, so I ordered the Drew Berrymore 6 Quart Touchscreen Air Fryer). Once I’ve used it a few times, I will post a review. I can’t wait to share these recipes with you all and share what I learn throughout the process! 




22 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page