top of page
  • Writer's pictureChayse Herriges

Redemption! -Learning Project Week 3

Hi friends! This week went really well for me regarding my cooking journey! I decided to make a honey barbeque chicken filet (which I believe is just a small chicken breast). I was scrolling through Pinterest, as I frequently do, and I came across a pin called Baked Honey BBQ Popcorn Chicken - Sally's Baking Addiction”.




It looked really good so I tapped on it, and it redirected me to a website called “Sally’s Baking Recipes”. This is one thing I really love about Pinterest! I didn’t just learn a new recipe, I found a whole new website with so many different recipes, tips, tools, videos, etc. 


If you’re a visual learner like me, you’ll probably see why I chose this recipe. I am such a sucker for a good aesthetic/photo. 


I saw that it was breaded and if you read my blog post last week, you’ll understand why I decided to alter the recipe this week to skip the breadcrumbs. If you didn't see the post, well… let’s just say the Panko bread crumbs cooked a little quicker than expected.


For this recipe, all I needed was honey, barbeque sauce, ketchup, smoked paprika, salt, and the chicken. I do not enjoy really thick chicken so I opted for 40g chicken filets this week. 




I was very excited because I have come to really love smoked paprika! This recipe was super simple. I poked some holes in the chicken with a fork (a tip I got from my mom this week), seasoned it, and then dipped it in a bowl with equal proportion of honey, barbeque sauce, and ketchup. I stuck the chicken in my air fryer at 360 degrees fahrenheit for 8 minutes, drizzled the same sauce over the chicken again, and cooked it for 2 more minutes. 


2 Chicken Filets in a brown sauce on a blue plate
2 of the Chicken Filets I cooked!

I was very worried that this week’s chicken was going to turn out like last week’s, inedible. When I pulled the tray out of the airfryer, I was pleasantly surprised! It wasn’t burnt! Checked the temperature and it wasn’t undercooked either. A big win for Chayse this week. Better yet? It actually tasted very good! I was (and still am) very excited that I have found a recipe that I actually enjoy and can easily and quickly make. 





How was the app? Well, I am a very active Pinterest user, which makes me sound like a millennial (which I think I am at heart, but don’t tell the other Gen Z’s). I love using Pinterest for finding recipes, activities for the summer program I run, school resources and ideas (highschool content is difficult to find), and inspiration for house renovations even though I do not have a house. If you’re interested in any of those, I will link my pinterest account here! 


I also really love the algorithm within Pinterest. It gives me other pins related to ones I like. This has given me a ton of other ideas and recipes to try out! It’s very simple to use, and it allows you and your friends to share ideas and pins in the same place! I wouldn’t say it is necessarily the best app for learning, because there’s not much learning within the app itself. It’s more helpful for directing you to other websites, videos, blogs, etc. that will help you learn. Either way, it is my second most frequented app on my phone and is probably tied with TikTok for which app I learn from the most.


Overall, I do recommend Pinterest if you are trying to learn any new hobby.

21 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page