top of page
  • Writer's pictureChayse Herriges

Desert Island Worthy Meal

Hi everyone! Today I decided to try a different kind of protein than my usual chicken breast. I had some ground beef in my freezer that I was slightly concerned was going to go freezer burnt soon, so I thought I should try to find a recipe this week that would allow me to use it. Continuing with my meal prepping, I decided to make a homemade hamburger helper dish. I went to google and searched “homemade hamburger helper recipe” and I clicked on the link with the most appetising thumbnail. 


This link ended up being to a website called FarmerGirl Gourmet. There were not too many ads which I really enjoyed. I also enjoyed that despite it being a blog site, I did not have to scroll very far to reach the actual recipe. A helpful visual component that the author included was multiple step-by-step pictures and an instructional video. I really appreciate when creators include visual components to recipes or other types of instructions because I am a very visual learner. The author also has a serving size to measurement converter above the recipe so you can adjust how much of each ingredient you’ll need based on how many servings you are wanting to make. This is one of my favourite tools that cooking websites and blogs do. It is so helpful as someone who cooks for only one person. 


Compared to other websites and blogs I’ve used, this is probably one of my favourites! It is simple, easy, has my favourite recipe tool, and does not bombard my screen with ads. To my surprise, I don’t have any critiques for the website. I highly recommend! 


I decided to use iMovie to document my learning journey this week. iMovie is a video-editing program that is available on your phone or computer. I used iMovie a lot as a kid, making short “horror” movies or comedy skits with my friends. I haven’t used it in many years so I wanted to check it out and see if it’s kept up over the years. Personally, I think it is very user-friendly. It is probably one of the most simple editing programs you can use that doesn’t require you to buy a monthly subscription to unlock basic editing tools. It also has free music and sound effects that you can use without worrying about copyright, which is great for people who are new to the world of video editing. It allows you to split, combine, slow down, and speed up videos. It also gives you the ability to adjust the audio of videos, so if you have multiple videos with different audio levels, you can set them to be the same. Also included in the program is a plethora of text options, transitions, backgrounds, and more. My only complaint is that it can be a huge pain in the butt if you’re trying to add text to a specific place in your video. I got annoyed with it and decided to just use TikTok, because the text options on TikTok are much easier. However, editing videos on TikTok can be a real pain. So the combination of both tools made this process easier. The video doesn’t look great because trying to record a video and cook simultaneously is harder than it looks. If I could go back in time, I would’ve ordered a phone tripod. 


Here is the video I made documenting my attempt at this recipe. I added a picture and a screenshot of the nutritional information that I calculated for the serving size of my bowl. I will say that even though it may not look super appetising, this is my new absolute favourite recipe. It is actually incredible! I could live off of this for the rest of my life and be perfectly okay with it, and it is super easy to make! If I was stranded on a desert island and had to choose three things to take, I would probably take 3 bowls of this. Here is a link to the recipe!






16 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page