top of page
  • Writer's pictureChayse Herriges

Canada's Worst Chef...Learning Project- Week 2

Hi friends! 


To start off my journey of learning how to cook, I used the app that I use most…TikTok! I know… it might sound silly, but there are so many great creators on the app that show you step-by-step how to make really good (and easy!) meals. 


All I did was search “easy chicken breast recipes” and an endless stream of videos flooded my way. There were so many options! I scrolled through them until I saw one that I thought looked really simple yet delicious. I took a screenshot of the recipe in the video description and saved the video to my phone. 

I really enjoyed finding the recipe this way because I was able to see what the end product would look like, what ingredients and tools I needed, and if it was something I could actually see myself doing, all in less than 30 seconds. The comments on the video were also super helpful! Some gave their testimonies on how it went when they tried it, and others gave suggestions and tips. 



(Link to Bethany Dobson's TikTok Page Here)

(Link to Video Here)


I have to say, I am a very visual learner so I found that I understood the steps and process easier than traditional written recipes. I also think that the video aspect of this recipe was the reason I was interested in the first place. It caught my eye and I’m glad it did! I probably wouldn’t have looked at it if it was in a magazine or cookbook. There were also step-by-step instructions in the caption of the video, which is good for accessibility.

One thing I didn’t like was how quick the video went through the ingredients list, but that's more on the creator than the app. I was able to just pause the video on the ingredient list and take a picture so that concern was very short-lived. 


Now, onto my attempt at cooking this meal. I followed it step-by-step and the only part that confused me was that the creator didn’t include measurements of the spices and sauces used. I estimated and the sauces and spices turned out great! I seasoned four chicken breasts with smoked paprika, Himalayan salt, and chicken seasoning. Then, I whisked an egg and dipped the chicken breasts in. In a separate bowl, I mixed smoked paprika, himalayan salt, and chicken seasoning with some Panko bread crumbs and stuck it in the air fryer at 390 degrees Fahrenheit for 10 minutes. The original recipe said 12 minutes but my chicken breasts were smaller than the creators, so I cooked it for less time.


While it was cooking, I grabbed a bowl and put sweet chilli sauce, soy sauce, honey, and ketchup (my own personal spin) and mixed until well combined. I added the ketchup because the soy sauce I used was very bitter and I wanted it to be more sweet. After 10 minutes, I dipped the chicken breasts in the sauce and stuck them back in the airfryer for 2 minutes.


When I took them out, I was a little surprised because it was a lot darker than I expected it to be. After looking at them a bit closer I saw that they were a little overcooked. Which is fine! Next time I try this recipe, I won’t cook it as long. Now the important part! How did it taste? If I’m going to be honest, it was pretty bad. The seasoning and sauces tasted really good, but the bread crumbs sort of roasted in the air fryer and tasted like burnt plastic. I will say, I did learn a lot while cooking this! I tried ingredients I’ve never had before like smoked paprika and sweet chilli sauce (which is now a new favourite of mine!). I also learnt how to use an air fryer, which is something I’ve never used. It’s a really useful tool! I cannot believe I wasn’t influenced to buy one prior to this video. 



Partially burnt breaded chicken breast on a blue plate
Here is my attempt at this recipe (a culinary "crime")

Overall, I learnt a lot about cooking this week. Even if it was a…rocky start. My meal definitely would leave Gordon Ramsey with nightmares and could probably inspire some cooking show producers to make a “Canada’s Worst Chef” show, but I am glad I did it and I’m glad I learnt what I did.

And I highly recommend TikTok as a source of inspiration or tutorials for cooking (and pretty much any other skill!). I will absolutely be using TikTok in the future for cooking and I recommend you try it too!

22 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page