top of page
  • Writer's pictureChayse Herriges

Can't Look Away! -Blog Post Week 2

Hi friends! 


This week, we’re talking about our screen time, how productive/unproductive we are with said screen time, and tools we use to limit distractions. My immediate reaction to this week’s blogging topic was, “uh oh”. I knew that looking into how much time I spend on my phone/computer and more importantly… WHAT I’m spending that time on was going to be a little bit uncomfortable as I already know it is…very high and very unproductive.


I spend a lot of my unproductive time online absorbing content, like many people. I spend a lot of time on YouTube, TikTok, and Instagram. I have ADHD, and I struggle with getting distracted and feeling an almost constant need to be doing something or watching something. TikTok is (unfortunately) designed for just that! The videos are short, and the algorithm tailors your feed to be EXACTLY what you like. The short videos make it feel like you’re not spending much time on the app, but in reality, multiple 10-30-second long videos add up! And quick! 


Because I get distracted by TikTok so often, I have used my phone’s settings to set a time limit of 4 hours per day across all social media apps. This may seem like too much still, but I communicate with my friends, classmates, and boyfriend through Snapchat (I always forget to answer iMessages for some reason). So throughout the day, that adds up to about an hour. I’m on Instagram for about 45 minutes per day. I enjoy looking at art and houseplants on Instagram! And I spend the rest of the time on TikTok in 10-minute increments when I need a study break or if I’m waiting for class. Using TikTok for 10 minutes helps reset my headspace and allows me to study for longer periods of time before getting overwhelmed or bored. 



To stay organised and productive, I find myself frequently using Google Calendar and Google Docs. I have all of my assignments, tests, and homework listed by class and due date. I have all of these assignments, tests, and homework in Google Calendar with reminders that alert me 3 days before they’re due. I struggle with procrastination, so when I write down due dates, I write them down 3 days ahead of when they’re actually due, so there is no way that I can run out of time. 


I also find that turning off notifications for apps that you don’t need them on for is really helpful! I turned off my TikTok and Instagram notifications and I find myself less drawn to them because my phone isn’t reminding me that it’s there. The “Do Not Disturb” button on my iPhone is also a great tool for limiting distractions. 


How do I strike a balance between screen time for academic purposes and personal well-being? That is a hard question, and I think the answer simply is that I don’t. That is something I have to work on and try to be more consistent with. I often feel guilty for the amount of screen time that is non-academic, so I think if I set more (but still realistic) restrictions for my phone, then maybe I will be more successful in reducing my unproductive screen time. 

8 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page